Worsham in Running for ‘Best Driver’ ESPY

By  | 

Reigning NHRA Full Throttle Top Fuel champion Del Worsham has been nominated in the Best Driver category for the prestigious ESPY Awards. In 2011, Worsham raced to eight victories as a Top Fuel driver for the Al-Anabi Racing team en route to his first NHRA Full Throttle Top Fuel championship.

Having accomplished his career goal, Worsham announced his retirement as a Top Fuel driver a week later and was named crew chief of the Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patron Toyota Camry Funny Car team with driver Alexis DeJoria.


The ESPYs, an award show hosted by ESPN, is a celebration of the best sports stories of the previous year, leading fans through the year’s best plays, biggest upsets, and most outstanding performances across all sports.

The 2012 ESPYs will be hosted by actor/comedian Rob Riggle and will take place Wednesday, July 11, at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles, airing live on ESPN/ESPNHD at 9 p.m. ET.

Fans will have the chance to select the winners by voting online or by mobile device at ESPN.com/espys or on the ESPN Facebook page, Facebook.com/espn. Additionally, fans can follow the official ESPYs Twitter page, @ESPYs. Voting will be held through 8:59 p.m. ET on July 11.

(Photo by Ian Tocher; Collage courtesy NHRA/National Dragster)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *