Qatar Racing Club Terminates Funding for Al-Anabi Racing USA

By  | 

The Qatar Racing Club has terminated funding for all motorsports activities in North America.  This decision includes the two-car Al-Anabi Racing Team operated by Alan Johnson Racing, the team announced today.  The decision was made in the final days of 2014, and team members were notified this morning.

Al-Anabi dragster“We are obviously surprised and disappointed about this completely unexpected turn of events,” Alan Johnson Racing team owner Alan Johnson said.  “Our plans for the 2015 NHRA season were nearing completion starting with pre-season testing next week in (West Palm Beach) Florida and the first race of the 2015 NHRA season a month from today in (Pomona) California. Many things are uncertain, and our situation is obviously still evolving. We are currently exploring our options, and we hope to have more news in the near future.”


The Al-Anabi Racing Team won NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Top Fuel world championships in 2010, ’11 and ’13.  The team won 42 races in the last six seasons with drivers Larry Dixon, Del Worsham, Shawn Langdon and Khalid alBalooshi.  When the team has additional information regarding its future, it will make another announcement; until that time, team members are unable to grant any interview requests.

Alan Johnson has won 11 NHRA Mello Yello Top Fuel World Championships with five different drivers: Gary Scelzi, Tony Schumacher, Larry Dixon, Del Worsham and Shawn Langdon; he is a 15-time NHRA champion in various capacities including crew chief, team owner and team manager.  For additional information on Alan Johnson Racing, please




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *