Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Fourth Annual Drag Illustrated ’30 Under 30′ Nominations Now Open

Drag Illustrated announced today that it is now accepting nominations for its 2018 ’30 Under 30’ list. Made up of some of drag racing’s most impressive young ambassadors, the popular ’30 Under 30,’ which is now in its fourth year, will be the main subject of Drag Illustrated’s 2018 December issue, the annual Tomorrow issue. The ’30 Under 30’ Nomination Period Presented by ZP Performance Steering will run through Friday, Oct. 12.

The honorees will again be recognized during a press conference at the Performance Racing Industry (PRI) trade show, which takes place Dec. 6-8 in Indianapolis.

“Our annual ’30 Under 30’ list is something we look forward to releasing each year, and it always amazes me in regards to the number of nominations we receive,” Drag Illustrated Founder and Editorial Director Wes Buck said. “The thousands nominations we get for the young, rising stars in the sport is so thrilling, and just reinforces the fact so we have many young, talented people doing incredible things. It’s just tremendously exciting to see the effort and hard work they’re putting in and also putting a priority on being at the drag strip.”

The 2017 ’30 Under 30’ class was headlined by 2010 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle world champion LE Tonglet, while previous ’30 Under 30’ headliners have included Jonnie Lindberg, a two-time NHRA Top Alcohol Funny Car world champ who currently drives in Funny Car, and Pro Stock star Vincent Nobile. In all, there have been 89 different ’30 Under 30’ honorees the first three years.

The full 2017 ’30 Under 30’ list also included Funny Car standout Courtney Force, Pro Stock points leader Tanner Gray, NHRA crewmembers Daniel Wilkerson and Matt Bynum, sportsman racing’s Justin Ashley, Austin Williams, Ray Miller III, Johnny Ezell, Bob Mandell II, Aaron Stanfield, Zack Sackman, Andrew Johnson, Aaron Stanfield and Robert Bauer III, PDRA standouts Tylor Miller, Michael Recchia Jr. and Cory and Dillon Voss, as well as drag radial drivers Lyle Barnett and Jamie Hancock. Rounding out the 2017 list was Jr. Dragster phenom Cade Poe, race promoters Jordan Grunwalk and Nathan Vanbeek, chassis builders Chase Copeland and Blake Housley, second-generation nostalgia driver Drew Austin, tuner Dennis Klangebo, Street Outlaws star David “Bird” Jones and Pro Mod pilot Daniel McKune.

“We’ve managed to put together such a diverse and talented ’30 Under 30’ list each year, and we’re definitely excited to release the latest honorees in 2018,” Drag Illustrated Editor-In-Chief Nate Van Wagnen said. “It will certainly be a challenge to narrow the list to 30 people, but It’s very gratifying to reveal the honorees at the PRI show. It’s become a highly anticipated press conference during a huge weekend and we can’t wait to have it again this year.”

Nominees must be younger than 30 years old as of Jan. 1, 2018, but the rest of the criteria for Drag Illustrated’s fourth annual ’30 Under 30’ is virtually unlimited. Anyone who is working in drag racing, whether as a driver, crew chief, crew member, sanctioning body or track officials, industry representative or in another facet, is eligible to be nominated for a spot on the ’30 Under 30’ list. Nominations will be accepted starting today through Friday, Oct. 12 via the link below.

“What’s fascinating about the ’30 Under 30’ list, and something I’m proud of, is it’s a list that covers all areas of drag racing,” Buck said. “If you’re a young person and doing something great in the sport, whether as a driver or working behind the scenes, we want to shine a light on those awesome efforts. It’s crucial to shine on a light on the young men and women having a huge impact in the sport because they’re the ones helping to shape drag racing’s future.”

To nominate someone for Drag Illustrated’s fourth annual ’30 Under 30’, please submit your nomination here:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

This story was originally published on September 20, 2018. Drag Illustrated

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The star-studded STREET OUTLAWS: No Prep Kings series is set to return for its 6th season in the summer of 2023. Fans can expect to...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star and renowned engine builder Pat Musi joined the recent episode of The Wes Buck Show and provided an update...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star Lizzy Musi announced today that she has been diagnosed with stage four breast cancer via her Youtube channel....


Ryan Fellows, who starred in “Street Outlaws: Fastest in America,” died in a tragic crash while filming for the show in Las Vegas on...

Since 2005, DI has informed, inspired and educated drag racers from every walk of the racing life - weekend warrior and street/strip enthusiasts to pro-level doorslammer and Top Fuel racers. From award-winning writing and photography to binge-worthy videos to electric live events, DI meets hundreds of thousands of racers where they live, creating the moments that create conversations.