Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Rick Baehr, Friday Winner, Moto Lenz photo


Baehr, Buchanan and Walker Stand Out at 25th Annual No Box Bonanza Reloaded

Racers from Ohio, Michigan, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, Kentucky and other states rolled in ready to take on some of the toughest competition in the country at the 25th Annual No Box Bonanza Reloaded, Sept. 29-Oct. 1, 2023 at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

They had their sights set on a giant $113,575.00 guaranteed purse, and as expected, the competition was intense and incredible.

When dew filled the air on Friday, Sept. 29, 2023, the final round of eliminations, featuring Rich Baehr of Smyrna, Tennessee, and Steve Collier of Huber, Heights, Ohio, was moved to Saturday. Baehr was ready on the starting line with an .012 reaction time and traveled to a 6.25 and the Summit Motorsports Park Winner’s Circle after Collier turned on the red light. The promised payout for Friday was $7,500 for the winner and $3,000 for the runner-up.

On Saturday, Sept. 30, 2023, A.J. Buchanan of Vickey, Ohio, who was recently crowned the 2023 Summit Motorsports Park Edelbrock Pro champion, took his usual cool, calm and collected approach to arrive at a .005 reaction time, a 5.86 elapsed time and the win over Bill Kinsey of Meadville, Pennsylvania, who clocked a 6.67. The guaranteed payout for Saturday was $20,000 for the winner and $7,500 for the runner-up.

Lucas Walker, who made the trip all the way from Murray, Kentucky, met Rick Baehr of Smyrna, Tennessee, in the final round of eliminations on Sunday, Oct, 1, 2023. Walker paired a .010 reaction time with a 5.89 elapsed time to defeat Baehr, Friday’s winner, who turned in a 6.22 to runner-up for this race. The advertised payout for Sunday was $7,500 for the winner and $3,000 for the runner-up.

“Rick Baehr, A.J. Buchanan and Lucas Walker are extraordinary racers, and they clearly exhibited their expertise at the 25th Annual No Box Bonanza Reloaded at Summit Motorsports Park,” said Bill Bader Jr., Summit Motorsports Park president. “They didn’t expect any easy rounds, and they earned each of their round wins. That is certainly worth celebrating.”

A.J. Buchanan, Saturday Winner, Moto Lenz photo


Lucas Walker, Sunday Winner, Moto Lenz photo

This story was originally published on October 2, 2023. Drag Illustrated

You May Also Like


The star-studded STREET OUTLAWS: No Prep Kings series is set to return for its 6th season in the summer of 2023. Fans can expect to...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star and renowned engine builder Pat Musi joined the recent episode of The Wes Buck Show and provided an update...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star Lizzy Musi announced today that she has been diagnosed with stage four breast cancer via her Youtube channel....


Ryan Fellows, who starred in “Street Outlaws: Fastest in America,” died in a tragic crash while filming for the show in Las Vegas on...

Since 2005, DI has informed, inspired and educated drag racers from every walk of the racing life - weekend warrior and street/strip enthusiasts to pro-level doorslammer and Top Fuel racers. From award-winning writing and photography to binge-worthy videos to electric live events, DI meets hundreds of thousands of racers where they live, creating the moments that create conversations.