Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Clay Millican and Courtney Force Win Traxxas Shootout Lottery

Courtney Force and Clay Millican upset the odds to claim the No. 8 positions in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout following special lottery drawings held today during a press conference in downtown Indianapolis to preview the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, the world’s most prestigious drag race.

Force, who was runner-up at Norwalk earlier this season, earned the second most fan votes in her category with 42 percent, just behind leading vote getter Alexis DeJoria at 43 percent, and will face the top seed in Funny Car, Jack Beckman, in the first-round pairing of the Traxxas Nitro Shootout.

“It’s really nerve wracking to stand up here,” said Force who is only one of three Funny Car drivers who has appeared in every Traxxas Nitro Shootout. “It’s great to be in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for my team and my sponsor. We’re excited to get this spot and make the fans who voted for us proud and go get this win.”

Veteran driver Millican upset fan vote winner Brittany Force to claim the final spot in Top Fuel. Millican, who took second place in the fan vote with 24 percent, will meet top seed Tony Schumacher in the first round of the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel. Millican will be racing in honor of his son Dalton who passed away last month.

“How about that, my little man upstairs may have helped get that ball in there for me,” said Millican, who will be appearing in his first Traxxas Nitro Shootout. “I am pretty excited and appreciate everyone at Traxxas for putting on this race. It’s always fun racing Tony so I am looking forward to it.”

The two drivers selected today was the culmination of a process that started on Aug. 23. All drivers in both categories who had competed in each race this season but were not a part of the seven qualified drivers for each Traxxas Nitro Shootout were eligible for the fan vote/lottery. Fan voting took place on NHRA’s Facebook page and lasted until Sept 1. The fan voting determined how many lottery balls would be assigned to each driver for the drawing. Force finished second in fan voting behind DeJoria (43%). The pair were followed by Del Worsham (10%), Cruz Pedregon (2%), John Hale (1%), Chad Head (1%) and Tony Pedregon (1%). Top Fuel’s Millican was second to Force (57%) and the pair were followed in the fan vote by Larry Dixon (11%), Dave Connolly (4%) and Terry McMillen (4%).

The Traxxas Nitro Shootout will be contested during the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, Sept. 2-7, at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel will be held Saturday Sept. 5, with rounds at 4, 5:25 and 7:45 p.m. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car will be contested Sunday, Sept. 6, with rounds at 12:30, 1:55 and 4:15 p.m. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout will be covered by ESPN2.

In the other first round pairings in Top Fuel, Charlotte 1 winner Antron Brown will face Seattle winner J.R. Todd, Las Vegas winner Richie Crampton will meet Denver winner Steve Torrence and Houston winner Doug Kalitta will face Winternationals winner Shawn Langdon.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In the three other Funny Car first round pairings, Winternationals winner Matt Hagan will meet Brainerd winner Robert Hight, Chicago winner Tommy Johnson Jr. will face Atlanta winner Tim Wilkerson and Las Vegas winner John Force will race Gainesville winner Ron Capps.

Tony Schumacher is the defending Traxxas Nitro Shootout winner in Top Fuel and John Force is the defending Traxxas Nitro Shootout winner in Funny Car. Below are the drivers who have qualified for the Traxxas Nitro Shooutouts and their first-round pairings for the lucrative bonus races which will award the winning drivers $100,000 each.



1. Tony Schumacher vs. No. 8 Clay Millican

2. Antron Brown vs. No. 7 J.R. Todd

3. Richie Crampton vs. No. 6 Steve Torrence

4. Doug Kalitta vs. No. 5 Shawn Langdon


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Schumacher-Millican winner vs. Kalitta-Langdon winner

Brown-Todd winner vs. Crampton-Torrence winner

FINAL (7:45 p.m.)



1. Jack Beckman vs. No. 8 Courtney Force

2. Matt Hagan vs. No. 7 Robert Hight

3. Tommy Johnson Jr. vs. No. 6 Tim Wilkerson

4. John Force. vs. No. 5 Ron Capps

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


Beckman-C. Force winner vs. J. Force-Capps winner

Hagan-Hight winner vs. Johnson Jr.-Wilkerson winner

FINAL (4:15 p.m.):

This story was originally published on September 3, 2015. Drag Illustrated

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The star-studded STREET OUTLAWS: No Prep Kings series is set to return for its 6th season in the summer of 2023. Fans can expect to...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star and renowned engine builder Pat Musi joined the recent episode of The Wes Buck Show and provided an update...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star Lizzy Musi announced today that she has been diagnosed with stage four breast cancer via her Youtube channel....


Tony Christian, one of the pioneering drivers of the Pro Street movement, passed away Thursday, June 9. Christian was infamous for his battles with...

Since 2005, DI has informed, inspired and educated drag racers from every walk of the racing life - weekend warrior and street/strip enthusiasts to pro-level doorslammer and Top Fuel racers. From award-winning writing and photography to binge-worthy videos to electric live events, DI meets hundreds of thousands of racers where they live, creating the moments that create conversations.