Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


B. Force and Wilkerson Win Entry to Traxxas Nitro Shootouts at Indy

JFR_BForce_E-town-flames_Lewis640Top fan-vote getters Brittany Force (above) and Tim Wilkerson were the lucky winners in the special lottery drawings for the No. 8 positions in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout today during a press conference held in downtown Indianapolis to preview the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, the world’s most prestigious drag race.

The 27-year-old Top Fuel rookie Force, who earned the most fan votes in her category with 49 percent, will face the top seed in Top Fuel, Shawn Langdon, in the first-round pairing of the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel. Veteran driver Wilkerson, who took the most fan votes in Funny Car with 40 percent, will meet top seed Matt Hagan in the first round of the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car.

Brittany Force

Brittany Force

Force was followed in the fan vote by Clay Millican (26%), Doug Kalitta (8%), David Grubnic (6%), Morgan Lucas (6%) and Terry McMillen (5%).

“This is very cool and I’m so excited,” said Force after one of her 49 lottery balls emerged from the machine during the Top Fuel drawing. “I remember watching my dad race in all the shootouts growing up and to follow in his footsteps and get a chance to compete in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout, it’s awesome. This is an unbelievable feeling.”

Wilkerson was followed in the fan vote by Robert Hight (32%), Alexis DeJoria (15%), Del Worsham (5%), Bob Tasca (3%), Jeff Arend (3%) and Tony Pedregon (2%).

“I’m very happy to get in the show and thanks to all of the fans for voting,” Wilkerson said. “I’m excited about it and hopefully we can put together a good day of racing and maybe bring home that big ($100,000) check. I think we’ve got a good chance to win, but we’ll see on race day.”

Tim Wilkerson

Tim Wilkerson

The two drivers selected today was the culmination of a process that started on Aug. 18. All drivers in both categories who had competed in each race this season but were not a part of the seven qualified drivers for each Traxxas Nitro Shootout were eligible for the fan vote/lottery. Fan voting took place on NHRA’s Facebook page and lasted until Aug. 27. The fan voting determined how many lottery balls would be assigned to each driver for the drawing.

The Traxxas Nitro Shootout will be contested during the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, Aug. 28-Sept. 2, at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel will be held Saturday Aug. 31, with rounds at 4, 7 and 8:30 p.m.  The Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car will be contested Sunday, Sept. 1, with rounds at 12:30, 3:30 and 4:45 p.m. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout will be showcased during ESPN2HD’s Sunday race coverage (1 p.m. ET).

In the other first round pairings in Top Fuel, Four-Wide Nationals winner Spencer Massey will face Houston winner Bob Vandergriff, Phoenix winner Tony Schumacher will meet Bristol winner Steve Torrence and Norwalk winner Khalid alBalooshi will face Gainesville winner Antron Brown.

Wilkerson_speedIn the three other Funny Car first round pairings, Phoenix winner Ron Capps will meet Jack Beckman, who was inserted into the field as the highest points earning non-winner, Gainesville winner Johnny Gray will face Winternationals winner Courtney Force and Las Vegas winner Cruz Pedregon will race Bristol winner John Force.

Spencer Massey is the defending Traxxas Nitro Shootout winner in Top Fuel and John Force is the defending Traxxas Nitro Shootout winner in Funny Car. Below are the drivers who have qualified for the Traxxas Nitro Shooutouts and their first-round pairings for the lucrative bonus races which will award the winning drivers $100,000 each.

(Photos courtesy JFR/Lewis; NHRA/National Dragster; Click to enlarge)



Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Shawn Langdon vs. No. 8 Brittany Force

2. Spencer Massey vs. No. 7 Bob Vandergriff

3. Tony Schumacher vs. No. 6 Steve Torrence

4. Khalid alBalooshi vs. No. 5 Antron Brown


Langdon-B. Force winner vs. alBalooshi-Brown winner

Massey-Vandergriff winner vs. Schumacher-Torrence winner

FINAL (8:30 p.m.)



Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Matt Hagan vs. No. 8 Tim Wilkerson

2. Ron Capps vs. No. 7 Jack Beckman

3. Johnny Gray vs. No. 6 Courtney Force

4. Cruz Pedregon vs. No. 5 John Force


Hagan-Wilkerson winner vs. Pedregon-J. Force winner

Capps-Beckman winner vs. Gray-C. Force winner

FINAL (4:45 p.m.):

This story was originally published on August 28, 2013. Drag Illustrated

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The star-studded STREET OUTLAWS: No Prep Kings series is set to return for its 6th season in the summer of 2023. Fans can expect to...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star and renowned engine builder Pat Musi joined the recent episode of The Wes Buck Show and provided an update...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star Lizzy Musi announced today that she has been diagnosed with stage four breast cancer via her Youtube channel....


Tony Christian, one of the pioneering drivers of the Pro Street movement, passed away Thursday, June 9. Christian was infamous for his battles with...

Since 2005, DI has informed, inspired and educated drag racers from every walk of the racing life - weekend warrior and street/strip enthusiasts to pro-level doorslammer and Top Fuel racers. From award-winning writing and photography to binge-worthy videos to electric live events, DI meets hundreds of thousands of racers where they live, creating the moments that create conversations.