Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Two NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series Drivers Eligible for 2022 Rookie of the Year Award

A pair of drivers in the NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series were announced today by NHRA officials as the eligible candidates for the 2022 NHRA Rookie of the Year award.

Pro Stock first-year driver Camrie Caruso and Top Fuel’s Scott Farley have been named as the candidates for the annual award that names the sport’s top rookie in the NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series. Drivers must compete in a minimum of five events to be eligible for the NHRA Rookie of the Year award. The winner will be announced at the upcoming Auto Club NHRA Finals, which takes place Nov. 10-13 at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.

Caruso has enjoyed a banner rookie season in the highly-competitive Pro Stock ranks, qualifying at all 17 races in the category thus far and advancing to the Countdown to the Championship playoffs. Currently tied for ninth in points, Caruso earned her first No. 1 qualifier in Houston and also advanced to the final round at the event where she joined points leader Erica Enders as part of the first all-female final round in Pro Stock history. In all, Caruso has enjoyed nine round wins in her rookie season with two races remaining.

Farley has attended five races in the loaded Top Fuel class this year, qualifying at two events during the 2022 campaign. He picked up a round win at one of those races, advancing to the second round in Epping at the NHRA New England Nationals in June. That first-round upset came against four-time defending world champion Steve Torrence, where Farley made his quickest and fastest career run.

Dallas Glenn won the NHRA Rookie of the Year award in 2021, while recent winners include current Top Fuel points leader Justin Ashley in 2020 and class standout Austin Prock in 2019.

The NHRA Rookie of the Year award recognizes the top rookie competitor that also represents the future of the NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series. The nation’s leading auto racing journalists select the winner through a voting system based on the following criteria: number of events competed in, performance on and off the racetrack, participation in NHRA promotions, and relationships with fans, sponsors, and media.

This story was originally published on October 20, 2022. Drag Illustrated

You May Also Like


The star-studded STREET OUTLAWS: No Prep Kings series is set to return for its 6th season in the summer of 2023. Fans can expect to...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star and renowned engine builder Pat Musi joined the recent episode of The Wes Buck Show and provided an update...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star Lizzy Musi announced today that she has been diagnosed with stage four breast cancer via her Youtube channel....


Ryan Fellows, who starred in “Street Outlaws: Fastest in America,” died in a tragic crash while filming for the show in Las Vegas on...

Since 2005, DI has informed, inspired and educated drag racers from every walk of the racing life - weekend warrior and street/strip enthusiasts to pro-level doorslammer and Top Fuel racers. From award-winning writing and photography to binge-worthy videos to electric live events, DI meets hundreds of thousands of racers where they live, creating the moments that create conversations.