Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Rupert, Goforth and Scott Qualify No. 1 for IHRA at San Antonio

IHRA_Rupert_SanAntThe location may have changed, but the names remained familiar during the second stop of the 2014 IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series tour.

Jason Rupert (Nitro Funny Car, above), Cary Goforth (Pro Stock) and Mike Scott (Nitro Harley)–all winners during the IHRA season opener in Tucson, Arizona one week ago–once again topped their respective classes during qualifying Mar. 28, at the IHRA San Antonio Nationals presented by Good Vibrations Motorsports at San Antonio Raceway. Jim Maroney (Nitro Altered) and Elaine Larsen Jet Dragster) rounded out the top qualifiers from Texas.

Friday’s qualifying rounds were filled with strong runs and great races as many of the IHRA’s premier classes showed their stuff under the pristine Texas air. And nowhere was that more evident than in Nitro Funny Car, where a bump spot of 5.968 left little room for error.

Cary Goforth

Cary Goforth

Despite the parity, there was no question mark at the top as Jason Rupert led the way from start to finish in the Nitro Funny Car class, taking the “Black Plague” Camaro to the top of the charts with a blistering 5.780-second elapsed time at 249.03 miles per hour, the first driver to dip into the 5.70s this season. The pass came in the final pairing of the night.

Right behind Rupert entering Saturday eliminations is Mark Sanders, his final round opponent from one week ago. “Mr. Explosive” also saved his best for last, laying down a 5.816, 246.98 to slide in comfortably behind Rupert. John Smith, driving the famed “Jungle Jim” Vega, qualified third with a 5.820, followed by Mike McIntire Jr. (5.886) and Greg Jacobsmeyer (5.917). Tim Boychuk, John Hale and Ronnie Young rounded out the field.

Mike Scott

Mike Scott

After qualifying fourth and posting his first round win of the year last weekend, Bruce Litton in the “US Male” Funny Car failed to make the show in San Antonio.

Points leader Cary Goforth topped IHRA’s Mountain Motor Pro Stock class, posting an impressive 6.300-second lap at 222.88 mph in his final pass of the night. He was followed closely by John DeFlorian, who had a 6.314, 218.55. Rounding out the top five are Scott Hintz (6.342), Todd Hoerner (6.356) and Pete Berner (6.356).

In Nitro Harley, Mike Scott once again took the lead, blasting through the traps with a 6.402, 221.35 to lead the two-wheel class. Randal Andras was second with a 6.816, 158.06, followed by Steve Dorn, Rickey House and Mike Pelrine.

Jim Maroney

Jim Maroney

Jim Maroney, runner-up one week ago in Tucson, topped Friday qualifying in Nitro Altered in the “Family Legacy” ride, posting a 6.495, 191.00 pass. Mike Hilsabeck was second with a 6.837, 141.87, followed by Terry Haddock, Ron Maroney and Ron Hope.

Finally in the Jet Dragster class jet veteran Elaine Larsen led the way with a 5.768, 267.38 pass, followed by Dawn Perdue with a 5.920.

Racing will continue at the San Antonio Nationals presented by Good Vibrations Motorsports on Saturday with final eliminations and a full day of sportsman racing at San Antonio Raceway.

(Photos courtesy IHRA; Click to enlarge)


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Marion, Texas – Qualifying from the 2014 IHRA San Antonio Nitro Jam Nationals presented by Good Vibrations Motorsports at San Antonio Raceway.

Nitro Funny Car

1. Jason Rupert, 5.780, 249.03; 2. Mark Sanders, 5.816, 246.98; 3. John Smith, 5.820, 252.81; 4. Mike McIntire Jr., 5.886, 235.60; 5. Greg Jacobsmeyer, 5.917, 242.07; 6. Tim Boychuk, 5.931, 236.72; 7. John Hale, 5.953, 237.47; 8. Ronnie Young, 5.968, 234.01; 9. Mike Smith, 6.017, 237.22; 10. Bruce Litton, 6.028, 231.96; 11. Mike Halstead, 6.096, 217.39.

Pro Stock

1. Cary Goforth, 6.300, 222.88; 2. John DeFlorian, 6.314, 218.55; 3. Scott Hintz, 6.342, 221.57; 4. Todd Hoerner, 6.356, 216.55; 5. Pete Berner, 6.356, 211.67; 6. Kevin Bealko, 6.665, 161.23; 7. John Konigshofer, 7.525, 130.10.

Nitro Harley

1. Mike Scott, 6.402, 221.35; 2. Randal Andras, 6.816, 158.06; 3. Steve Dorn, 6.830, 193.47; 4. Rickey House, 7.356, 140.85; 5. Mike Pelrine, 7.442, 138.72; 6. Alvin Kobernusz, 7.504, 141.78; 7. Ron Gledhill, 7.635, 199.73; 8. Jay Turner, 9.073, 103.73.

Nitro Altered

1. Jim Maroney, 6.495, 191.00; 2. Mike Hilsabeck, 6.837, 141.87; 3. Terry Haddock, 6.863, 183.00; 4. Ron Maroney, 7.025, 130.74; 5. Ron Hope, 7.577, 182.93.

You May Also Like


The star-studded STREET OUTLAWS: No Prep Kings series is set to return for its 6th season in the summer of 2023. Fans can expect to...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star and renowned engine builder Pat Musi joined the recent episode of The Wes Buck Show and provided an update...


Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings star Lizzy Musi announced today that she has been diagnosed with stage four breast cancer via her Youtube channel....


Tony Christian, one of the pioneering drivers of the Pro Street movement, passed away Thursday, June 9. Christian was infamous for his battles with...

Since 2005, DI has informed, inspired and educated drag racers from every walk of the racing life - weekend warrior and street/strip enthusiasts to pro-level doorslammer and Top Fuel racers. From award-winning writing and photography to binge-worthy videos to electric live events, DI meets hundreds of thousands of racers where they live, creating the moments that create conversations.